Tags

, , , ,

When I started this blog, I wanted to also post recipes I have created over the last few years to share with everyone. I want to preface this with the fact that I am not a gourmet cook nor have I ever taken a cooking class. I cook because I like to and I also like to eat. They kind of go hand in hand.

A few years ago, my boyfriend discovered that he had a gluten and soy intolerance. Since then, when cooking meals for the both of us, I am very conscientious of the fact that whatever I am cooking needs to comply with his diet. I mostly eat gluten free at home, but if we’re at a restaurant or eating at a friends house I will indulge in breads and pasta’s.

Anywho, one of my go-to dinners is the simple ground turkey and veggie plate. Now, let me warn you, I don’t really measure, so these are approximations.

Ingredients:
1 tbsp of olive oil
Onions – 1/2 a medium onion – diced
Mushrooms – 4-5 white mushrooms sliced
Ground turkey – 1.25 lbs
Garlic salt – a few shakes (that’s how I measure)
Celery – 1 stalk
Zucchini – 1
Rainbow Carrots (or any carrots) – 1-2 bunches sliced

IMG_6137

Directions:
Thaw out your turkey, if it isn’t already.

IMG_6138

Over medium heat in a frying pan, heat your olive oil add your diced onions to the pan and sauté for 3-4 minutes

IMG_6141

IMG_6142

Then add your mushrooms and let them cook for an additional 3-4 minutes

IMG_6143

Add your thawed turkey and season with garlic salt (a few good shakes)

IMG_6145

Break up the turkey so they are in small ground pieces

IMG_6146

Once the turkey is browned – about 10 minutes – add the remaining veggies

IMG_6146

IMG_6148

Cover with a lid and lower the heat to medium low and let sit for 20 minutes

Dinner is ready! Dig in and enjoy.

I usually make some white rice with this for a starch, basmati is our favorite. And I always like to add a glass of wine, you know, for the antioxidants.

IMG_6147

Yummy Dinner!

Yummy Dinner!

Should serve 4

Hope you all enjoy this gluten free, soy free, easy recipe!

If you’d like to follow me on Facebook, please click below!
https://www.facebook.com/lifelaugheatrun

