Tags

, , , , ,

Today I’m sharing my gluten free macaroni pasta and chicken sausage recipe, a.k.a lazy Sunday dinner.

I call it my lazy summer recipe because it only takes about 30 minutes to cook. Super easy and super yummy.

Ingredients needed:
1 box Lundberg brown rice pasta – I chose elbow for this particular dinner, but you can choose whichever shape you’d prefer. We use this brand a lot and it’s very tasty.
http://www.lundberg.com/products/pasta.aspx
1/2 container of Bertoli Pasta Sauce
http://www.villabertolli.com/product/category/114620/pasta-sauces
1 package of Jennie-O Sweet Italian Turkey Sausage

IMG_6172

This is it! This is all you need. Seriously.

As much as I would love to make my own pasta sauce, this is a lazy night dinner, so I choose Bertoli because it is comprised of very simple ingredients and NO soy. Which, if you start reading labels, a lot of products have soy. Because of my boyfriends intolerance to gluten and soy, we really try to avoid any products that contain soy.

IMG_6174

Directions:
Heat frying pan to medium heat. I like to remove the turkey sausage from the casings.
IMG_6175

Once the meat is in the pan, I break it up using a wooden spoon so they are in small pieces and let the meat cook all the way through, no pink leftover, for about 20 minutes.

IMG_6179

Meanwhile, boil water in a large pot and follow the directions on the Lundberg box to boil the pasta. It’s pretty straightforward, just like any other pasta.

IMG_6180

IMG_6178

Once the pasta is finished, drain the pasta

IMG_6181

Combine all cooked ingredients; pasta, turkey sausage, and sauce in the large pot and mix together.

IMG_6182

Voila! You have a yummy and filling dinner. This should serve 4.

IMG_6185

The turkey is already seasoned in the package, so you really don’t need a whole lot of seasonings, but I do add some salt and pepper for taste. I also, almost always, like to have some mixed greens with my dinner.

I hope you enjoy and if you’d like, please follow me on my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/lifelaugheatrun

