Tags

, , , ,

I was thinking the other day how my focus on fitness has evolved in the last few years.

I began, well, life basically, as a dancer. At 4 years old, I started classes.

Me at 4 as a mouse in the Nutcracker

Me at 4 as a mouse in the Nutcracker

Continued on through grade school, middle school and high school. Attended some summer study programs at SF Ballet and Boston Ballet and then continued on through college.

Being a ballerina

Being a ballerina

I earned my BA in Dance and have been teaching dance since I was a teenager. When I think about it, I always viewed dance as an art. I never viewed it as fitness.

Now, don’t get me wrong, you have to be incredibly fit and be committed to train your body in order to improve your skills and knowledge of dance. You have to know the body, how it works and how you can use it to your benefit to be a better dancer.

But my love of dance was not the toned muscles, it was the artistry of it. It was the way I felt when I glided across the floor in class or on stage. It was conveying a story to an audience and making people feel something.

I never saw myself as an athlete.

However, now as I get older and have found a passion for running (it’s weird even writing that down, who knew?). I run because it’s me time. I run because I feel good afterward (feeling good during?…still working on that).

I run to make ME feel something and makes me feel like I’m doing something to better myself, physically and mentally. I’m not going to lie, the races and medals are also a positive.

Being silly and serious runner girl

Being silly and serious runner girl

Even though, I obviously was an athlete while dancing, and ALL dancers are athletes, I’m finally starting to feel like I can embrace that about myself.

I can be an artist and an athlete. Kind of awesome.

Coutndown continues!!
Countdown

If you like my blog, please follow me on Facebook!
https://www.facebook.com/lifelaugheatrun

