Tags

, , , , , ,

Just finished doing the 10k on the Bay race this morning! I only did the 5k, but Rob did the 10k. We have done this race before. It’s local, it’s organized and according to their website “proceeds from this race help to maintain and enhance the educational programs, exhibits, and facilities of the Hayward Shoreline Interpretive Center.” I love supporting local races like this, so it only makes sense to sign up!

As I said above, there is a 5k and a 10k offered and the courses run along the Hayward Shoreline.

The course maps courtesy of www.10konthebay.com

The course maps courtesy of http://www.10konthebay.com

Super flat and easy. The weather was great, overcast and cool. They also provided a timing chip to attach to your shoe to capture your race time as you crossed the finish line.

I ran with a friend of mine and we did a walk run for this one. Took our time and chatted along the course. There was two water stops for the 5k (well, one really, but you pass it twice) and three water stops for the 10k. Here are some pictures of the area/course.

Ready to Run!

Ready to Run!

Start line for the 5k

Start line for the 5k

Emily took a picture p me running.  I like my ponytail in the air!

Emily took a picture of me running. I like my ponytail in the air!

Finished!  And they had finisher certificates with little pins attached.  Very cute!

Finished! And they had finisher certificates with little pins attached. Very cute!

They also had a cheering section where people can cheer for their loved ones finishing!

They also had a cheering section where people can cheer for their loved ones finishing!

They had oranges, trail mix, bananas, and melon at the finish line which was all yummy.

If you’re local to Hayward, CA, I would totally recommend this race. It’s well organized and fun. And they had a cute t-shirt!

A little big, but I can cut it to make it fit cute.

A little big, but I can cut it to make it fit cute.

Till next year!

