Tags

, ,

This was over Labor Day weekend at the 2013 Dumbo Double Dare/Disneyland Half Marathon Weekend.

We decided to have dinner at Cafe Orleans, which is a sit down restaurant in New Orleans Square that serves creole inspired cuisine.

Cafe Orleans Menu

Cafe Orleans Menu

We started with the Le Salade de Maison and the Pomme Frites. A little bit healthy, a little bit not.

Le Salade de Maison

Le Salade de Maison

Pomme Frites

Pomme Frites

Both were yummy. The fries were covered in cheese and garlic and came with kind of an aioli dipping sauce, which I didn’t think it needed. The fries were good on their own. The salad was good, the candied pecans on it were super yummy and the raspberry vinaigrette was kind of amazing. I wanted to lick my plate, but refrained.

Our entrees we got were the Seafood Crepe for me and Rob originally ordered the Vegetable Ragout, but they accidentally brought out the Crescent City Salad and he was so hungry he at the whole thing before realizing it!

Seafood Crepe

Seafood Crepe

Crescent City Salad

Crescent City Salad

Rob enjoyed his salad, though when he saw what the ragout looked like he was kind of bummed. I didn’t love my crepe. The shrimp and scallops were good, but overall it was really dry. I basically just ate the seafood and left the crepe.

Then came DESSERT!!!! The main reason we came to Cafe Orleans, the Mickey Mouse Beignets.

Mickey Mouse Beignet's

Mickey Mouse Beignet’s

All I can say about these are they are so amazing!!! They’re like really light donuts with powdered sugar and they come with a jelly and vanilla dipping sauce.

If you don’t want to eat at the restaurant, you can also pick them up at a Mint Julep Bar, at the French Market restaurant, it’s a small side window. Trust me, if you haven’t had these, don’t wait! Eat them!

Overall, I would go back again to Cafe Orleans, but I would try something different. Like the Monte Cristo!

