Tags

, , , , , ,

And we’re up! The last leg of our Dumbo Double Dare Challenge!

I’m going to apologize in advance for the lack of pictures. I was kind of in a zone during this run, so I didn’t really take a ton of pics, but I will try to be as descriptive as possible.

We were awake at 3:30am, not so bright and early. We had laid everything out the night before, so it was easy to just throw everything on and go.

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

We headed toward Downtown Disney and grabbed some oatmeal from Jamba Juice and then headed to the Half Marathon staging area. Lots of people and costumes.

We headed to the corrals for our start. We separated at that point, since I was in C and Rob was in A.

Before going to our separate corrals.

Before going to our separate corrals.

Waiting to start!

Lots of people!

Lots of people!

They had someone sing the National Anthem, complete with fireworks, which was awesome. Then they had the wheelchair start, corral A, then corral B and then it was our turn!

Disneyland Half Course Map

Disneyland Half Course Map

Now here is the journey I went on during this race. Let me preface with the fact that it was so hot this weekend it was almost unbearable. Not even Southern California hot, it was humid ridiculously hot weather. Some of the park stuff below may not be in the actual order we ran it in, but you’ll get the gist of it.

I started off okay, my legs were a little bit tired from the day before, but not terrible. The first two miles were not so bad. Then we got into California Adventure. Ran down Cars Land and by World of Color waterfront area. After that we crossed through Downtown Disney and into Disneyland! Down Main street, with lots of ChEar squad people, which was fun. We ran through Tomorrowland, I saw storm troopers, in Frontierland, there were the green army men. Went by It’s a Small World where I saw Cinderella and Merida from Brave. Then through Fantasyland, I saw Captain Hook and Smee on the carousel and then through the castle!

After the parks we were running in the streets of Anaheim.

I’m not going to lie, mile 4-5 was VERY difficult for me. I was hot and tired and it was starting to get warmer. We passed the Mexican Folklorico dancers and the little kids were SO cute, that got me some happy energy, so get my legs morning faster again.

Around mile 6, I was feeling good, running by a few cheerleading squads and some dance troupes. Mile 6-8 was great! We ran through a TON of classic cars while they cheered and honked their horns. So awesome. If the sun wasn’t coming up around this time, I would have been a lot happier, but the cars helped for sure.

Then 8 hit. I literally hit a wall. I thought, I can’t make this, it’s too hot, I’m too tired. We ran past the Honda Center and onto a trail, which was loooooong. And there were more than a couple of hills. This is where I walked a bit. I went to a dark place and was just not feeling it.

Finally we were in the Angels Stadium parking lot where TONS of boy scouts and girl scouts were out cheering us on. That was just what I needed to get the legs going again. I hi-fived as many as I could! So fun. Mile 9 started to feel good. As we ran through the Angels Stadium, I saw myself on the jumbotron and heard my name being called out! That was pretty awesome and helped me get some momentum going.

Mile 10-13…yikes. I was just putting one foot in front of the other at this point. I was sweating like a crazy person and was just tired. I hit mile 12 and needed to walk a bit. I have this problem. I always walk at mile 12. They really need to put some spectator people there, that’s when I need the most cheers!

Finally I saw 13 and picked up the pace. I hi-fived Minnie right before the finish line and crossed! They had people with spray bottle spraying people down. It felt so good! I got my Disneyland Half medal AND my Dumbo Double Dare Medal. Amazing!

YAY!

YAY!

Grabbed my box of food and a banana and downed my water as soon as I got it. I stopped at EVERY water stop on the course and I was still thirsty the whole race. That’s how hot it was.

Official time: 2:14:11…11 seconds off my PR time last year! I can’t believe it, since I had some really awful moments out there.

After I found Rob and we headed back to the hotel to get cleaned up.

We had breakfast at the PCH Grill at Paradise Pier Hotel.

Mickey greeted us at breakfast

Mickey greeted us at breakfast

Minnie like my Minnie Mouse Manicure!

Minnie like my Minnie Mouse Manicure!

Then we headed to Trader Sam’s for some well-deserved cocktails!

YUMMY!

YUMMY!

I can’t believe this weekend is already over. Can’t wait for next year.

On a super cool note, my picture made it onto the Run Disney Facebook page! So excited about that.

Smiling towards the finish line!

Smiling towards the finish line!

If you’d like to check out my blog on the Health Expo for the Dumbo Double Dare Weekend, please click here:
https://lifelaugheatrun.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/2013-disneyland-half-marathondumbo-double-dare-weekend-part-1/

If you’d like to read about my 10k race, please click here:
https://lifelaugheatrun.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/2013-disneyland-10k-race-report/
Now it’s time to focus on a PR time for the Las Vegas Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon in November.

Till then, I’ll just stare at my awesome medals.
IMG_6602

QOTD: Have you ever hit a wall during your half marathon/marathon and bounced back from it?

