Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Frankly, there are times it is so hard for me to lace up my shoes and get out the door. Especially after the race I’ve been training for has come and gone.

There is so much build up from the training, physical and mental, and the planning. Travel, accommodations, and let’s face it, most important, the costume I’ve chosen to wear for the race keeps me motivated to continue my training. Then the event comes, it is AWESOME and then it’s over. Back to home and finding ways to motivate myself to keep training.

Here are some ways I motivate myself to run:
1) Sign up for another race!
I like to always have a race on the horizon. I’m not going to lie, a few times, I have signed up for race and things come up and I can’t make it and I lose money. Life, migraines, illness, injury; any of those things can get in the way of races. However, the fact that I have a race coming up reminds me that I HAVE to get out and train! I mean, how will I get a Personal Record (PR) if I don’t get my bum out the door for a run?

Signing up for a local race, like this one I did on 4th of July in between big races, can be a HUGE motivator

Signing up for a local race, like this one I did on 4th of July in between big races, can be a HUGE motivator

2) Get some cute clothes!
Seriously, if I have new running/workout clothes, that is a huge motivator to get me out the door. If I buy new shorts, new shoes, new tops, visors…I can go on and on, I love wearing new clothes, especially for workouts! Plus, it justifies the money I spent on said new clothes, and that always makes me feel better, especially when I buy workout wear on impulse.

My new neon shoes and neon orange shorts!  So fun  to wear on a run.

My new neon shoes and neon orange shorts! So fun to wear on a run.

3) Stay healthy!
I have seen how my body changes when I stop working out for a while and how I feel; lethargic, tired, low energy, it seriously bums me out. I love feeling healthy and fit. Knowing that I’m keeping myself in tip top shape helps me feel better about myself and I take pride in the fact that I, hopefully, will have a long healthy life. Plus, I have to continue to fit into my cute new running clothes I bought, so that helps too!

Pumping some iron in Toon Town at Disneyland!

Pumping some iron in Toon Town at Disneyland!

In reality, it all comes down to what makes YOU want to train, but maybe some of these reasons can help you find the motivation to get those running shoes on and get into the great outdoors!

Happy running everyone.

QOTD: How do you motivate yourself to run??

