Tags

, , , , , , ,

I just did the 2013 Title 9k Bay Area run and had a great time!
IMG_6689

It took me a while to sign up for this race since last year I was signed up for it and then I had hurt myself at the Disneyland Half Marathon, so I ended up not doing it. This year though, I’m feeling great, so I signed up about a week prior to the race.

According to Google, 9 kilometers equals about 5.59234 miles, so not too bad.

The race was held at Quarry Lakes in Fremont, and it started at 9am. It was a pretty chilly start, probably around 64 degrees and overcast, but made for a nice run.

I got to the race area at about 7:50am. Picked up my bib, t-shirt and goody bag. Parking and packet pick-up was super easy and organized. I loved the colors! Green is one of my favorites.

So cute!

So cute!

Lots of fun stuff!

Lots of fun stuff!

I do want to say, with so many races not giving out swag bags anymore, it’s kind of nice to get one with so much stuff! Plus, I’ve been wanting to try those Stinger things, so I’m excited that was in the bag.

The cool thing about this race was it is SUPER kid friendly. Before our run started, they had a kids race where they separated the kiddos into age groups and had them run a short distance, but they were so cute!

Kids getting in on the race fun!

Kids getting in on the race fun!

They also had a bounce house and face painting to keep the kiddos entertained while their moms were running.

Then at about 8:50, they got us all lined up, and had signs so we had sections to stand in per our anticipated pace time.

Our pacing line-up signs

Our pacing line-up signs

I went in between 9 minute mile and 10 minute mile. At 9am, pretty much on the dot, we were off!

Course Map courtesy of http://www.titlenine.com/images/t9k/2013/bayarea-course.html

Course Map courtesy of vhttp://www.titlenine.com/images/t9k/2013/bayarea-course.html

The first mile was a little bit crowded, but once I got to mile 2, it was pretty clear and open. There were two water stops, but we passed one of them twice, so three total water stops. There was supposed to be chocolate at one of them, but maybe I missed it, because I didn’t see it anywhere…

The cloud covering helped a lot to keep up a good pace, and at mile 4-ish was a hill. Not a big hill, but a hill always throws me off! I kept a nice steady and even pace up it and continued on my merry way. The course was really well marked and the volunteers were great!

I do love women centric races, racers tend to be so supportive on the course. Everyone is yelling out “great job” and “you’re looking great” and it’s just so nice! You don’t get that at every race. Oh, and a lady at mile 5 told me I had very graceful running form! I told her it must be the ballerina in me 🙂 LOL! Totally made my race.

At the finish line we got some water and a necklace.

Finishers necklace

Finishers necklace

After finishing, I grabbed some water and a cinnamon raisin bagel and took a picture in front of the Title 9k sign.

Finish photo, in my brand new Running Skirt!

Finish photo, in my brand new Running Skirt!

I walked around the finish area a bit and checked out some of the signs, they had some cute ones posted!

I loved seeing this on the way to the finish line

I loved seeing this on the way to the finish line

Basically my motto...

Basically my motto…

Then I found this place!

I had about 4 samples of these.  Oh my goodness...SO DELICIOUS!

I had about 4 samples of these. Oh my goodness…SO DELICIOUS!

I might have to visit them!
http://www.anniethebaker.com

All in all, had a great time and got in a 5.5 mile run. Official finish time: 49:58. I finished 3rd in my age group…I think that’s the first time that’s EVER happened! Not too shabby.

Next up for me is Bridge to Bridge in SF. Unless I get inspired to sign up for one before that.

QOTD: Have you ever gotten something in your swag bag that you had never tried before, but realized you couldn’t live without after you tried it??

