Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hello all! Just finished the Bridge to Bridge SF 2013 10k and had an incredible time. Beautiful course, organized bib pick up, friendly people, everything you could ask for in a race. Good fun in general.

There was a little bit of a hiccup before the race. Originally, it was going to be a 7k and a 10k, but because of the government shutdown, the course had to be changed. The 7k was made a 5k and for the 10k, instead of finishing on Chrissy Field, we ended on the Marina Green. Because of this change, the 10k course became no longer certified, which was kind of a bummer, but what can you do?

This is the updated course map, courtesy of www.bridgetobridge.com

This is the updated course map, courtesy of http://www.bridgetobridge.com

I arrived in SF at around 7:30am, found parking (and memorized where I parked, I have a terrible problem with forgetting where I park when I drive into SF…), and headed to the staging area to pick up my bib. It was a beautiful morning! I knew it was going to be in the 80’s during this race (hello SF summertime), so I left my jacket in the car and was it was a little chilly, but warmed up quick.

I got to the staging area in Justin Herman Plaza and picked up my bib, it was early still, so not too many people around.

The Ferry Building

The Ferry Building

Staging Area - I got there early, so not too many people...YET

Staging Area – I got there early, so not too many people…YET

The sun rising behind the new Bay Bridge

The sun rising behind the Bay Bridge

After I got my bib and grabbed a banana at Noah’s Bagels, I did a little dynamic warm up and went for a short and easy jog on the Embarcadero.

You really can't beat that view!

You really can’t beat that view!

Me with the bridge!

Me with the bridge!

After my warm up, I went back to Justin Herman Plaza where I met up with a co-worker who was also running and did the warm up’s led by the race people . It was fun. I love group warm ups!

These guys led the warm ups...still not sure what the masked guy was all about.

These guys led the warm ups…still not sure what the masked guy was all about.

The Plaza filled up quite a bit!

The Plaza filled up quite a bit!

Then it was time to head over to the start line!

Ready to go in my awesome Swirlgear shirt!

Ready to go in my awesome Swirlgear shirt!

The pace signs for lining up at the start.

The pace signs for lining up at the start.

The crowd ready to go!

The crowd ready to go!

And we were off!

We went down the Embarcadero, through Fisherman’s Wharf, then around mile 2.5ish, there was a BIG hill. I sucked it up and ran up the hill and took advantage of the downhill. Then we were in the Marina, the 10k and 5k then split and the 5k went to the finish line and the 10k-ers kept running toward the Golden Gate Bridge. I just have to say, I couldn’t stop staring at the Golden Gate Bridge during this run. It was SO pretty! A little after mile 5 we hit the turnaround. Bye bye Golden Gate, hello SF Skyline! We really had a great view both ways.

A special thanks to the guys and gals at around mile 5.8 for the hi-fives and cheering! I really needed it at that point. It was starting to get warm. Finally, I saw the mile 6 sign…almost there!! I picked up my pace a little bit and crossed the finish line. YAY!

After I crossed the finish line, I grabbed some water and headed to the t-shirt tents to pick up my shirt and bag.

T-shirt tents

T-shirt tents

The t-shirt...I may have to do some altering to make it wearable.

The t-shirt…I may have to do some altering to make it wearable.

Bag...I was kind of hoping there would be some floss in there, since I actually use Oral B Glide Floss, but nope...just empty.

Bag…I was kind of hoping there would be some floss in there, since I actually use Oral B Glide Floss, but nope…just empty.

After I grabbed my shirt, banana and orange, I walked around the expo a little bit, they had a band and they were pretty good! So I listened to them for a bit.

The bands name, according to the B2B website is Afrolicious.  They were great!

The bands name, according to the B2B website is Afrolicious. They were great!

I then headed over to the shuttles, which were yellow school buses and waiting in line to get on. I didn’t have to wait too long, so that was nice.

Shuttle pick up

Shuttle pick up

Once I got back to the Ferry Building, I decided to grab myself a little treat at Cowgirl Creamery!

YUMMY!!!

YUMMY!!!

Then found my car!! YAY. And headed home. All in all, had a great race and am definitely planning on doing it next year.

