Tags

, , , , , , , ,

With an East Bay represent theme, a cool medal and a race at Golden Gate Fields (where I’ve never been before, but have always wanted to go to), I couldn’t resist signing up for the Let’s Go 510 10k!

This race is part of the Run the Bay Challenge, that include the 408k in San Jose and the 415 mile in Marin. If you do all three races, you get a pretty incredible Golden Gate Bridge medal…I may have to participate next year. I have a medal problem…

I arrived with my boyfriend, i.e., cheerleader, at around 8:30am. Kind of early for a 10am start, but if you have read any other race reports I’ve written, I’m ALWAYS an early arriver, so it’s normal for me to get to a race an hour and a half before start time.

On the way to packet pick-up!  I nice, foggy East Bay morning.

On the way to packet pick-up! A nice, foggy East Bay morning.

Also, I do have to point out that I wore my Swirlgear pink jacket prior to the race and this is the second time, I had a (spoiler alert) PR while wearing their stuff to/in a race. I think it may be my new, lucky race gear!

We parked and headed to the packet pick-up area, which was inside the race track and there were racers (horses and jockeys) warming up on the track. The horses are so beautiful! I stood and watched a little while and then headed over and picked up my bib, t-shirt (which is SO CUTE) and my goodie bag, that had a lot of goodies!

Packet pick-up area

Packet pick-up area

With my bib and a horse behind me, warming up!

With my bib and a horse warming up behind me!

LOVE the t-shirt!

LOVE the t-shirt!

I did some dynamic warm ups and went for a quick jog and headed for the start line.

Start line arch

Start line arch

They actually had corrals (not sure if that’s what it’s called) where the horses run through at their start line at our start line. It was so fun walking through! Kind of neat-o.

They had the horse start corrals at the start line for us to walk through before we got to the start line

The horse corrals

I did a little practice run :-)

I did a little practice run πŸ™‚

The calm crowd before the storm.  BTW, the guy in the gold pants had some MAD skills with that sign...it was kind of amazing.

The calm crowd before the storm. BTW, the guy in the gold pants had some MAD skills with that sign…it was kind of amazing.

The race directors were very time conscious and made sure the start was punctual. We started right at 10am sharp! And off we went…up-hill. I mean, who doesn’t love a race that starts up-hill, ha!

Mile 1-3, we ran toward Cesar Chavez Park, on a road next to the freeway. It was a little tight at the beginning, but thinned out around mile 2. There was a water stop at mile 2.2. As we rounded a big hill almost to mile 3, we got a beautiful view of the city and the bridges.

This was right before mile 3, feeling good!

This was right before mile 3, feeling good!

The fog had most burnt off, so it was very nice. Heading back to Golden Gate Fields, was pretty smooth and I stopped at the second water stop at mile 5 for some water. At around mile 5.5, we had a pretty good hill we needed to go up…whew! Luckily, my cheerleader was there to help me get over the hump.

We finally got back to Golden Gate Fields and headed ONTO the race track! The terrain for this race was pavement, gravel, dirt and then this track, which was mud-ish and not the easiest thing to run on. I was thinking, oh my, this is the hardest 0.2 miles ever! LOL.

This was the last 0.2 miles...it was ROUGH

This was the last 0.2 miles…it was ROUGH

But I finished!! And finished with a PR of 55:55!! So exciting. And the best part, was that my legs felt great the whole run. I mean, I was sore after, but during the run, I felt pretty awesome.

The medal was incredible. So cool.

Bling close up!

Bling close up!

Me and my bling!

Me and my bling!

I made a pit stop for water and headed over to the food table. I have to say, this race had so many choices for food! Bagels, popcorn, melon, rice krispy treats…life was good!

FEED ME!

FEED ME!

Special thanks to my cheerleader boyfriend, for basically running all around the course to cheer me on and to cheer others on! We had our names on our bibs, so he would yell out “great job, {name}”! Hope that helped some people on the course like it helped me!

Cheerleader a.k.a, best boyfriend ever

Cheerleader a.k.a, best boyfriend ever

Next up is my 2nd ever Xterra Maui 10k Trail Run…if I survive, I will be back to write a race report!

Till then, happy running!!

