Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love Thanksgiving. I love it so much, I choose to cook the entire dinner myself (with help from my lovely sister for some chopping, potato peeling and just another set of hands). The one downfall of cooking the entire meal is that I need to start early, which means, I really don’t have time to do one of the beloved turkey trots that happen all throughout the SF Bay Area the morning of Thanksgiving.

Me and my sous chef, aka sister.  Everything on the table was homemade!  And quite tasty if I do say so myself.

Me and my sous chef, aka sister. Everything on the table was homemade! And quite tasty if I do say so myself.

This is why I love Brazen Racing. Not only do they do a turkey trot on Thanksgiving morning, but they ALSO do a turkey trot the Saturday after Thanksgiving. YAY for me! And for many others like me who I’m sure don’t want the stress of doing a trot in the morning before cooking a large family meal.

Quarry Turkey was offering a half marathon, a 10k an a 5k. I chose to do the 5k, wanted to keep it easy and wasn’t planning on going all out, just a leisurely 3.1 miles.

The race was at Quarry Lakes in Fremont. Per usual, race bib and t-shirt pick up was easy peasy. My race didn’t start until 8:40am, so I got to the park a little bit before 8. Brazen races are always very well organized and easy to navigate. If you’re in the SF Bay Area, I highly recommend you try out one of their many races.

Quarry Lakes morning!

Quarry Lakes morning!

The start line

The start line

The other cool thing Brazen offers, you can register for a race and opt out of the t-shirt and you pay LESS! I always opt for the t-shirt, because they have some really cute, women’s cut cotton shirts. But I love the fact that they offer that option to those racers who have a bunch of shirts that they don’t ever wear.

I opted for the t-shirt.  Super cute!

I opted for the t-shirt. Super cute!

After I picked up my stuff, I did some warming up (I had no choice, it was COLD, I just needed to keep moving to stay warm) and took a picture with a turkey, because why not?

Turkey and my pilgrim hat

Turkey and my pilgrim hat

Once the half marathoners and 10k racers were off, it was our turn. The announcer mentioned that the route was actually longer than 3.1 miles, it was more around 3.5 miles – he called it an ultra 5k…HA! It was also the largest group of the morning and a lot of newbies. Way to go newbies!!

Then we were off! Quarry Lakes is pretty flat, so that makes it a little easier. I noticed at about mile 1.5 I was maintaining an under 9 minute pace…what?! So, I just kept trucking along.

Happy running on the course

Happy running on the course

I finished with a chip time of 28:02 putting me at an 8:43 pace! Fastest pace I’ve ever been able to maintain for 3 miles. I was super pumped!

After I crossed the finish line, we got these REALLY cute medals. Then I headed over to the food. They always have a ton of food at these races. I got some oranges, a bagel and some chips. MMMMMMMMM.

The bling!

The bling!

After another photo with another turkey, I checked my placement and I came in 5th in my age group! Yay!

Turkey and bling!

Turkey and bling!

So all in all, it was a nice run, with nice people after A LOT of food. Maybe I should eat Thanksgiving dinners more often…you know…to improve my pace. lol…

Next race on the docket, Hot Chocolate 5k and then Tinkerbell Half Marathon!! I’m already working on my Tinkerbell costume. I’m so excited. YAHOO!!

QOTD: Were you able to get a turkey trot in this Thanksgiving??

