Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m doing the Hot Chocolate 5k tomorrow morning and in order to participate, I had to go pick up my bib in SF. I live in the East Bay, so it’s kind of a drive for me…I’m also not a fan of a race not having race-day bib pick up, but it is what it is, so I had to go get it.

Luckily, through the wonders of Facebook, I found out there was a 2014 Rock’n’Roll SF course reveal “party” and 5k fun run in the same place I had to pick up my bib for the Hot Chocolate, so I figured…win/win!

I got up early, drove out to the Sports Basement in the Presidio…well, first I got lost and ended up in downtown somehow. I thought to myself, this doesn’t LOOK like the Presidio. It wasn’t. Thank goodness for Google Maps. Thanks Google.

I arrived right on time, they had refreshments like orange juice, muffins and bagels (thank goodness because that egg and toast i had for breakfast was starting to wear off) and a raffle. They actually had a pretty good crowd! They revealed the course on a television and I have to say, I am now considering running it! It goes across the Golden Gate Bridge!! That would make 5 half marathons in 2014…YIKES!

Good crowd!

Good crowd!

I had a bagel with cream cheese, pretty yummy

I had a bagel with cream cheese, pretty yummy

I didn't drink this there, but I took a bottle home!

I didn’t drink this there, but I took a bottle home!

The course reveal!

The course reveal!

Anywho, it was time to do the fun run. We walked outside and had a gorgeous view of the GG Bridge and the beautiful SF fog. They had a couple of pace groups. I joined the 9-10 minute group and off we went. No corrals, no “on your mark, get set, go”, no bibs, no timer chip, just running. I found it so refreshing! It was overcast and foggy, perfect weather for a run. Everyone was very chill, there was no competitiveness in the air at all. Everyone was just out to enjoy the morning with a run. It was awesome!!

Seriously, how can one not enjoy themselves with this as their background??

Seriously, how can one not enjoy themselves with this as their background??

I love running by myself, but I’m starting to learn that I also like to run in groups. Not because I necessarily like to talk to people (I’m still working on that socializing while running thing), but it’s just a different feeling of running with a bunch of people all going the same place you’re going.

Looking forward to the Hot Chocolate 5k tomorrow…minus the cluster that is their parking situation, but I’ll touch on that in my race review. Hopefully the run with be fun and I am looking forward to my hot chocolate at the finish line!!

QOTD: Do you prefer to run solo or in a group and why?

