Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I mean, the fun is in the name right?! HOT CHOCOLATE 15k/5k…how can one resist signing up?

So, I succumbed to the temptation of yumminess at the finish line and I signed up for the 5k. I thought about doing the 15k, but having a half marathon next weekend (woo-hoo Tinkerbell Half!!), I thought it would be best to save my legs for that and stick with the 5k.

The weeks leading up to the race caused a little anxiety for me. They kept sending emails that Golden Gate Park, where the race would be taking place, parking garages would be closed and they highly discouraged you to park in the surrounding neighborhood. They wanted everyone to sign up for their shuttle service that they were charging $8-$18 round trip for. WHAT?! This was not made clear when I signed up, so I was a little bit upset about that.

Being the rebel that I am (HA! For those of you who know me, you know I hate breaking rules…), I thought, how can they possibly police the area AROUND the park? That’s just silly talk. So my fiancé and I got up at 5am…yes…5am…for a 5k…and tried our parking luck. We found a spot! A mile away, but still it was a spot! We parked and did an easy jog over to the park, to warm up before the race.

Once we got there, there were a TON of people.

Good crowd at the merchandise tent

Good crowd at the merchandise tent

Music Concourse at Golden Gate Park

Music Concourse at Golden Gate Park

The sunset was kind of amazing!

The sunrise was kind of amazing!

We headed over to the start area at around 7:05 for a 7:30am start time. I was in corral A. Funnily enough, I don’t remember submitting my time, but I guess I must have.

My coral

My corral

I'm pretty sure this was the closest I've ever been to the start line...

I’m pretty sure this was the closest I’ve ever been to the start line…

Everyone lining up

Everyone lining up

After the singing of the National Anthem, we were off, 7:30am on the dot! It was a beautiful morning, chilly, but clear skies. If you haven’t had a chance to run in Golden Gate Park, I highly recommend it. Beautiful scenery, fresh air, it was awesome!

On the course!

On the course!

Taking the turn!

Taking the turn!

The 5k Crowd

The 5k Crowd

I crossed the finish line at about 28 minutes, not too shabby! After we crossed, we had water and powerade. Then we went back to the start line to pick up our hot chocolate goodies!

This way to the chocolate!

This way to the chocolate!

Pick up!

Pick up!

The mug was chock full of yummy yumminess! Hot chocolate to drink, chocolate fondue and a banana, rice krispie treat, marshmallow, mini pretzels and a vanilla wafer to dip in the fondue. SO AMAZING!

Ta-Da!

Ta-Da!

YUM!

YUM!

Better than a medal

Better than a medal

After I ate my goodies…thanks, by the way, to the lady who gave me her marshmallow so I could have two :-), we headed back towards the car, but not before getting a fun pic with the marshmallow man!

My new friend!

My new friend!

All in all, I was super impressed with how well organized this race was. I heard that the shuttles were super easy to use and not a long wait either. I would totally recommend this to a friend and I’ll for sure do this one next year! Can’t wait for more chocolate!!

QOTD: Have you ever gotten something at the end of a race besides a medal that was awesome??

