Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Per usual, I had a freaking fantastic half marathon again this year. This was my third time running Tinkerbell, I’m going for legacy, and I loved every minute of it.

Alarm was set for the lovely hour of 3am. My fiancé and I were up and getting ready. I had laid out my outfit the night before so I didn’t have to scramble in the morning to find all of the parts. The nervousness about getting Sebastian on my shoulder and having him stay there was squelched once we tied him around my tank strap and pinned his front and back down. Sorry Sebastian…hope that wasn’t too painful.

Attached and ready to go!

Attached and ready to go!

Good morning 3am!

Good morning 3am!

We left around 4am and headed over to Jamba Juice to grab an oatmeal for breakfast. We walked over to the staging area while we ate. Drank some water, used the super fun porta potties in the dark and headed over to our corrals.

The welcome sign for us at the staging area

The welcome sign for us at the staging area

IMG_8593

Ready to run

Ready to run

In our corral

In our corral

Waiting to start

Waiting to start

I was in corral A and my fiancé Rob was in B, so I went into B so we could run together. After the National Anthem, complete with a beautiful singer and fireworks, it was time to go!

We were off. The first couple of miles was on the streets on Anaheim and then we were in the parks.

Little blurry Tower of Terror

Little blurry Tower of Terror

The Incredibles!

The Incredibles!

Cars Land!

Cars Land!

More Cars Land

More Cars Land

A little Latin flavor

A little Latin flavor

World of Color!

World of Color!

World of Color selfie

World of Color selfie

Monsters University

Monsters University

Tink!  I was trying to imitate Captain Hook's hook

Tink! I was trying to imitate Captain Hook’s hook

Castle!

Castle!

The Lost Boys were on the carousel.  Kind of wish they would have been standing for a picture, but whatever.

The Lost Boys were on the carousel. Kind of wish they would have been standing for a picture, but whatever.

Cindy and us

Cindy and us

Choo choo!

Choo choo!

Runners at dawn!

Runners at dawn!

How do they find people that look SO much like Johnny Depp?

How do they find people that look SO much like Johnny Depp?

The best part of mile 6.5...Red Hat Society!

The best part of mile 6.5…Red Hat Society!

After we were out of the parks, it was the “scenic streets of Anaheim” LOL It actually wasn’t so bad. We were keeping a pretty easy pace. Since we knew we were going to stop for character pics, we were in no hurry. The water stops were great, easily accessible and loved when the volunteers would yell encouragements and say hello to Sebastian while we were passing by.

Also, if you didn’t notice in the pictures already, my fiancé was sporting a Captain EO t-shirt and he got a TON of shout outs on the course. Who knew people still love Captain EO as much as we do?

Shadow Selfie

Shadow Selfie

At least were running with the sun at our  backs!

At least were running with the sun at our backs!

Sebastian was telling me what a great job I was doing

Sebastian was telling me what a great job I was doing

Finally we had the Paradise Pier Hotel in our sight! We picked up the pace a little bit and finally turned the bend and there was the finish line!

We crossed at 2:49:12, about 10 minutes faster than last year and about 35 minutes slower than my PR time.

Thanks Sebastian

Thanks Sebastian

Thanks to my other favorite running partner, Rob

Thanks to my other favorite running partner, Rob

I love Run Disney so much, so I may be biased, but I had such a great time at this race. I know the course can get a little crowded at times, but you really can’t beat the magic and energy you feel while running this race!

After getting back to the hotel, taking an ice bath…brrrr…cleaning up and checking out, we headed to Goofy’s Kitchen. This was both Rob and my first time eating here and all I have to say is peanut butter pizza and mac n’ cheese pizza. Holy moly. AMAZING!

The man himself, Goofy.

The man himself, Goofy.

After eating we walked over to Trader Sam’s for some Mai-tai’s, because what’s better to rehydrate with than a yummy Mai-tai??

All in all, we had a blast! Next up for me is some 5k’s and 10k’s and then the SF Rock ‘n’ Roll Half! CAN’T WAIT!!

QOTD: What’s your next half marathon?? Or next race for that matter?

