Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Last weekend, my fiancé Rob and I went out to Lake Las Vegas because he was racing in the Xterra off-road triathlon.

We arrived in Las Vegas on Friday morning…early!

Viva Las Vegas!

Viva Las Vegas!

Headed out toward the strip for some breakfast and then out to Lake Las Vegas to check into our hotel and get some pool time (for me) and a pre-ride of the course (for him).

Xterra not only does triathlons, they also have a pretty challenging and awesome trail run series that they put on. So, I figured, why the heck not sign up for the 5k? I mean, I was there, so it made total sense to me! I do love an impromptu 5k 🙂

Saturday morning, we rolled out of the hotel room and headed to the race. There was a good amount of people there, I believe they said about 600 people and there were 3 distances to choose from; a 5k, 10k and 21k. After SF Rock ‘n’ Roll the week below, I decided to “take it easy” and do the 5k.

Happy 5k!

Happy 5k!

With my cheerleader

With my cheerleader

Let's get this party started

Let’s get this party started

Xterra calf

Xterra calf

HA! There is no taking it easy on an Xterra course! The first mile was great. It was a little bit up and down, but I was able to maintain a good 9-ish minute pace. Then I hit mile 1.5…and a large hill! As I was going up said hill, I noticed a lady with a Disneyworld Half Marathon tattoo on her calf muscle! I hoofed it over to her and told her how cool I thought her tattoo is. Through winded breaths we had a short conversation and she was super nice, which gave me the second wind to get up the next hill! Runners are awesome.

After that, it was mostly downhill and I tried to take it as fast as possible, without falling on my face, since it was really slippery with gravel and dirt.

Finally, the last mile was there, and it was starting to get WARM, but I heard the announcer and saw the finish line, so I BOOKED IT! I finished faster than I thought I would at 37:32. With the hills, the heat and the gravel, I was pretty proud of myself.

Smiling through the finish

Smiling through the finish

THEN, we got the little result card with my placement and I placed SECOND IN MY AGE GROUP! My first podium finish!! Oh my goodness, I can’t even describe how incredibly excited I was. I got a little medal, that doubles as a bottle opener. I may take it to parties and say, “Hey, you need that beer open? Let me open it for you with my second place medal.”

IMG_9433

So happy!

So happy!

Podium!!

Podium!!

It was a great day and a new milestone for me. Rob did great in his race the following day and once he writes a re-cap, I’ll link it here.

Next up, Santa Barbara Wine Country Half Marathon. CAN’T WAIT!

If you’re interested in reading about how Rob’s triathlon went, go visit his blog!

QOTD: Have you ever signed up for a race on a whim?

