Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy 4th of July everyone! Hope you are having a happy and safe day that is filled with BBQ’s and 4th of July races.

Today, Rob and I completed the 4th of July Run San Ramon 10k put on by On Your Mark Events.

We actually overslept and when we woke up, I thought…hmm…do I really want to get up and drive to San Ramon to run?? I mean, it’s a holiday, it’s a day off of work, I could just sit on the couch (work on the million things we have left to compete for the wedding) and chill out. Then I thought, I’m doing a half marathon in two weeks and I have been terrible at training.

After some conflict/resolution in my brain, off we went to San Ramon.

I did this run last year, the 5k, and had a great time. Tons of families out running together, which is always fun to see, and a well organized race.

This year was no different, except I did the 10k instead.

Ready to run!

Ready to run!

We got to the race at about 7:30am, did our day of registration and did a short jog around the area. We ran into some friends, which is always fun and then it was time to line up.

I didn’t LOVE the fact that the 10k was two loops. After the first loop, I start to get whiny and say…why didn’t we just do the 5k?? We could’ve been done by now! LOL. Ah, the brain. The course though was flat and fast, just how I like it.

Rob ran with me, so he ran about 2.5 minutes per mile slower than his actual pace. It’s always nice to run with him. He pushes me to go just a little bit faster and it usually works! We sprinted toward the finish line with huge smiles across our faces.

All done!

All done!

It was a fun way to start off the holiday! On Your Mark Events did a great job as usual and the shirt is really cute too. BONUS!

IMG_0868

Another thing I like about On Your Mark Events is the ALWAYS have a ton of food at the finish line. I never leave hungry. Plus, they had ice cream!! YUM.

FOOD!

FOOD!

Ice cream!

Ice cream!

No PR today, but felt pretty good for 6 miles, so can’t complain.

Now, I need to mentally prepare myself for the Napa to Sonoma half.

Hope you all have a happy 4th of July!

QOTD: Did you do a race today in celebration of the holiday??

