I’ve been a little behind with posting to my blog. Between my bridal shower, bachelorette party and eventual wedding, it has been quite the last couple of months!

Here is a pic from our wedding. It was one of the most magical days of my life! So much love and happiness.

10502035_10101355328123438_6193099114334490019_n

Before we leave for our honeymoon we had an extra weekend in there, so I thought, hey, why not sign up for a half marathon? It sounded like a really good at the time, until we got closer and I thought…oh yeah, I need to pack and do laundry and get ready for a honeymoon! But I digress…who wouldn’t want to run 13.1 miles through Napa and Sonoma? I mean, come on!

My husband wasn’t able to make it with me for the weekend in Napa, so my BFF came with me. We had lunch, did some wine tasting and had a delicious dinner on Saturday. It was pretty fun!

We stopped at the expo to pick up my bib and t-shirt. It was short and sweet. The expo was small, but good stuff. I didn’t end up buying anything, but it’s always nice to look around.

IMG_1261

IMG_1262

IMG_1263

IMG_1264

IMG_1265

Sunday morning, I woke up around 5am and got ready. They had a shuttle to take participants from Napa to the start line at Domaine Carneros Winery. I got a little worried because I got there about 5:50 and didn’t get on a bus until almost 6:30…with a start time of 7:00am for the race. Usually, I get to races SUPER early to warm up, but I got there about 10 minutes till. A little heart palpitation, but I got over it.

Shuttle Line

Shuttle Line

Once we got to the winery, I was ready to run!

IMG_1277

IMG_1278

IMG_1279

IMG_1283

The race started on a little downhill and then a left turn and up what they called “butt-burner hill”. It wasn’t too bad. The rest of the course was fairly flat with a few rolling hills.

We winded through some beautiful vineyards and honestly the first 7 miles went by SO quickly. I was feeling great and I realized that there was a chance, if I stayed at the pace I was at, I could PR!

In addition to the course being fairly flat, the weather was kind of amazing. It stayed overcast the entire time and even started to sprinkle when I hit mile 10. SCORE!

Speaking of mile 10, I saw a sign as I was approaching that said Guinness! I thought, why the heck not? I mean, if the beer hurt my stomach, I only had 3 more miles until the finish, but how can beer possibly hurt my stomach? It’s beer! lol. So I did a little shot of Guinness and it was kind of like having another Clif Shot! It was awesome. I basically coasted to the end and before I knew it I crossed the finish line with a 4 minute PR! WHAT?!

After I crossed, we got our medals. I was just a little disappointed because it was the same medal as Santa Barbara Half Marathon, but it had a different charm on the bottom and different lanyard. The t-shirt looked similar too, but purple. I do love purple!

IMG_1298

IMG_1300

IMG_1299

All in all it was a really great race.

Finished with my cool medal!

Finished with my cool medal!

No wonder they sell out in about 30 minutes! I highly recommend if you want to do a race in Napa, this one was awesome. Just make sure to follow Destination Races on FB so you know when they open up registration.

QOTD: Have you done a race in a wine country?? Which one and what did you like about it?

