Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is the 4th year I have participated in Title 9k’s run and every year I love it. There are a couple of reasons why it’s high on my list.

1) I live about 5 minutes away from the race venue
2) Since I live near here, I’m very familiar with the course
3) They always have great t-shirts
4) You can feel the support from the race director and the racers, everyone is so nice and encouraging

The race started at 9am, so I meandered over to the race venue at around 8:15am. Found some parking, picked up my bib, t-shirt and goody bag and did a little warm up.

Bib, t-shirt and goody bag

Bib, t-shirt and goody bag

Normally, I like to watch their kids races, which they call their rag-a-muffin, but since I was later than usual, I missed it. I do have to say, every year when I come do this race, I notice how kid friendly it is here. They have a bouncy house, face painting, the kids races…it’s never ending entertainment!

They had a few vendors to explore there as well as massage/chiropractor services and Worlds Yoga there to warm up and cool down.

IMG_2707

IMG_2705

IMG_2708

IMG_2710

IMG_2711

IMG_2712

After a little warm up and jog, I was ready to start!

Let's go!

Let’s go!

About 20 minutes before the start, they began to line us up. They had signs for us to place ourselves where we thought our pace would be I lined up between 9 & 10 minute and they had a baby jogger and walker section as well.

Lining up

Lining up

I forgot to mention, one of the other things I love about this race, they have some of the funniest signs around! Like these two at the start line…

IMG_2718

IMG_2717

The course was out and back. The only hiccup for some was when we looped to go back, some people didn’t stay to their right, so there is always a chance you have to dodge out of the way not to run into someone coming in your direction. Other than that, it was a fast and flat course.

I was pretty even paced and was able to stay at an 8:56 pace throughout…which is pretty speedy for me! Must be this whole marathon training thing and running so much. They had 3 water stops, which was nice because it was getting pretty warm.

In addition to the fun signs they had at the start line, they also have fun ones on the course. One that encouraged hi-fives at around mile 4.5…who doesn’t love hi-fives?? And then encouraging ones towards the finish, like the one below.

IMG_2719

Once I finished, I actually ran into a friend who’s husband does a lot of the triathlons that my husband does, so it was nice to chat at the end.

Instead of a medal, they give you a cute necklace at the finish line. I took a photo at the photo booth and then skeedaddled home…I was starving…and warm.

IMG_2728

IMG_2732

Keeping my pace under 9-minutes per mile was a big surprise and more of a surprise that I felt pretty good the entire run! This is making me even more excited about marathon training. Yahoo!

Next up is Bridge to Bridge in SF. I did that one last year too and can’t wait to do it again.

QOTD: Have you noticed when you increased your mileage that your speed increases as well?

