Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I just love SF. I just love living in the Bay Area and being so close to SF. I love working in SF and seeing the skyline and the bridges on a regular bases. So, it’s not a surprise that I love the Oral-B Glide Floss Bridge to Bridge run in SF.

The course starts at Justin Hermin Plaza, right in front of the Ferry Building and ends on the Marina Green. They offer both a 5k and a 12k, and let me tell you, it’s one of the most beautiful courses.

Course map courtesy of www.bridgetobridge.com

Course map courtesy of http://www.bridgetobridge.com

I signed up for this race a while ago, but have been hounding my husband to come and run it with me because…well…it’s fun to have a running buddy! Finally, he agreed, so we left our house around 6:45 and got into SF around 7:30, and since the race didn’t start until 9am, we had a ton of time for parking and for him to register for the race.

Good morning SF!

Good morning SF!

IMG_2993

IMG_2998

Some photo's of the registration tent and a LARGE floss blow up

Some photo’s of the registration tent and a LARGE floss blow up

IMG_2996

Selifes!

Selifes!

Once Rob was all registered we headed over to the Ferry Building to use the bathroom and to get some caffeine before the race…and, of course to take more pictures. We seriously couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful morning in the city.

A little Blue Bottle pick me up before the run

A little Blue Bottle pick me up before the run

IMG_3037

Not a cloud in the sky!

Not a cloud in the sky!

We headed back to the staging area and the crowd had definitely gotten bigger! We were ready to go to the start line.

Start line!

Start line!

IMG_3019

People lining up

People lining up

Rob and I ready to run

Rob and I ready to run

At, pretty much, 9am on the dot, we were off! We headed down the Embarcadero, towards Fisherman’s Wharf, past Aquatic park and then up the one hill on the course. We were keeping a pretty good pace and I was thoroughly enjoying the scenery. It felt like we were at the 5k turn-off for their finish before we knew it! We kept headed toward the Golden Gate Bridge and towards the fog. As we got closer, it started to get chilly and Rob started to cramp a bit, so we slowed our pace for him to shake it off. He even pulled off the course to take some pictures.

The bridge is coming out of my head.

The bridge is coming out of my head.

Helllooooooo fog!

Helllooooooo fog!

There were some high waves too, hitting the rocks, it was crazy!

There were some high waves too, hitting the rocks, it was crazy!

Once we hit the turn around Rob was feeling better and we headed back towards the Marina Green to finish. We were actually chatting quite a bit during this run, which shows how far I have come with running, considering my first 10k I did with him, he was talking and talking and talking and finally, when he realized I stopped responding, he asked, “do you want me to shut up?” I said, “yes.” LOL. This run, I was chatting right back! What a difference 3 years of running makes.

We crossed the finish line with an unofficial finish of 1:11:36 at a 9:24 average pace. Not too bad for me and not too bad for Rob who has been on a workout break for about 3 weeks. He’s gearing up for marathon training!

Done!

Done!

Where's the bridge??

Where’s the bridge??

Afterward, we headed over and grabbed out t-shirts some water and almonds and off to the shuttle to take us back to the start.

The official t-shirt

The official t-shirt

After we got back, we headed to the Ferry Building for a little treat…grilled cheese with blackberry jam and ricotta from Cowgirl Creamery…OH YEAH.

Yummy in the tummy

Yummy in the tummy

Next up…NIKE WOMEN’S HALF! I have already warned my husband that I may go a bit crazy at their expo. I can’t wait to see all the workout wear they’ll have for sale. Yay!!

QOTD: Do you have a race you have done with a beautiful course?? Which one?

