Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s been a while since I posted anything.  Life has been busy!

After my 16 mile training run a few weeks ago, which went way better than I thought it would, I started to get a really bad pain in my metatarsal on my right foot.  I took a few days off, thinking that may help.

Awesome run...

Awesome run…

Unfortunately, it didn’t.  So, I started going to sports therapy with my chiropractor and icing like a fiend.  That seems to be helping and I got through a 3 mile run today without any pain.  YAY!  Hopefully, I can keep the pain at bay while continuing my training for Goofy.  It’s almost here…I can’t even believe it.

Taking care of that foot!

Taking care of that foot!

I had signed up for a Turkey Trot for the Saturday after Thanksgiving and with my foot hurting so bad, I wasn’t sure I was going to do it or not.  UNTIL, one of my friends decided she was ready to do her FIRST 5k!  Well, I couldn’t miss that, of course!

Just wanted to post this because my turkey was pretty delicious if I do say so myself...

Just wanted to post this because my turkey was pretty delicious if I do say so myself…

It was a Brazen Racing Turkey Trot, which, if you have read my blog in the past, you know, Brazen puts on some of my favorite races.  A perfect run for one’s first 5k.

We got to Quarry Lakes to grab our bib and t-shirt.  Another friend joined us for run support.  They had a half marathon and a 10k that went before us and then it was our turn.  Ready, set, 5k!

Ready to run!

Ready to run!

We kept a very steady pace the entire run.  Melody, my first time 5k-er friend, was doing really well.  She was in the zone.  She was in it to win it!  We took a couple of walk breaks during the run to catch our breath.  Stopped at the water stop at around 1.75 miles and ran it in to the finish line.  SO EXCITED!  What an accomplishment to get your first 5k done.  I remember that feeling of reaching my goal of finishing my first 5k.  It’s so awesome and I felt super lucky to be there to see Melody reach her goal.

Oh yeah!

Oh yeah!

I told her…next up…10k!

Now that I’m on the mend, I need to giddy up and get some long runs in before Goofy.

The foot is A-ok...hope it stays that way.

The foot is A-ok…hope it stays that way.

I have found out, I’m in Corral H for both the half and full marathon, so right in the middle of all the corrals (they go up to P).  Rob is in C, of course…he’s fasty-mcfasterson.  Plus, they released their event guide for the Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend, which makes me even MORE excited.

My goal for Goofy is to cross the marathon finish line standing vertically.  I can collapse afterward 🙂  But not for too long be because we have lunch reservations at Crystal Palace at Magic Kingdom!

QOTD:  Are you training for WDW Marathon Weekend?  Which race are you doing and how is your training going?

