Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

What a weekend!  This weekend was more than I imagined it would be.  It showed how much a person can push their body and mind to places they never thought they could go.  13.1 miles followed by 26.2 miles.  Holy cannoli.

My training for this years Goofy Challenge wasn’t great.  I was super on it for the first half of training, but then only got up to 16 miles and hurt my foot. So, for the month prior to the race I only did a few runs up to 7 miles or so.  This made me VERY nervous, but not much I could do about it prior to the race.

My husband and I flew out of SFO to Orlando on Thursday morning and landed around 6pm.  Goodness gracious it was COLD!  I mean cold by Florida standards of course.  We did not mentally prepare ourselves for this type of weather nor did we pack accordingly.

Once we took the Magical Express to our resort, Port Orleans, French Quarter and checked in we headed to Downtown Disney to grab some dinner.  We ended up at Raglan Road Irish Pub, it was pretty yummy!

Banana Bread Beer. YUM!

Banana Bread Beer. YUM!

I saw, earlier in the day, they had race themed phone cases, so we went to D-Tech and I got my Goofy phone case.  It’s super cute!

IMG_4490

Friday we got up and did a little shake out run around Port Orleans.  I wanted to try out my Goofy hat for my marathon costume and just move the legs a bit.

Easy shake out run and Goofy hat test

Easy shake out run and Goofy hat test

IMG_4382 IMG_4383

Afterward, we headed to the expo.  It was pretty smooth process.  We picked up our bibs and then got a picture with our bibs for the challenge.  For the challenges, they used to give you a wristband upon completion of the first race, so they know you finished race one and race two, but now they take your picture next to your bib and have people at the Goofy finish line to ensure you are who you say you are and you earned your challenge medal.

IMG_4494

Expo time!

Expo time!

IMG_4387 IMG_4389

We grabbed our shirts and headed to check out the Run Disney merchandise.  A lot of the shelves were empty at that point, so i settled for a marathon tank top and a Goofy car magnet.

We meandered a bit around the expo, saw the new Run Disney New Balance shoes, which I actually really liked, but at $185 a pop, I just couldn’t justify buying a pair.

New Balance shoes

New Balance shoes

On kind of funny note, my sisters picture is in the ESPN Bar & Grille…lol…so we went in to say hello to her picture!

Hi sissy!

Hi sissy!

After we were done we headed over to Hollywood Studios and enjoyed a day at the park, because walking around for hours and standing in line is what one does before running 39.3 miles right?  Right!

IMG_4406

Part two – the Half Marathon, coming soon!

QOTD:  Did you get everything you wanted at the Expo?

