Tags

, , , , , ,

It has been 2 weeks and one day since I crossed the finish line after running (and walking a lot) 26.2 miles in my first marathon.

I still have moments where I think, holy moly…how did I do it?  How did I stay on my feet for almost 6 hours?!  How did I keep the run/walk up the entire time?  Seriously, there were times that it was painful to start the run again after our walk break.  My feet felt like they were on fire, but I kept going.

Then I began to think, who knew how much you can accomplish when you put your mind to it?  I think it is true, the first 13 miles you run with your legs, 13-20 is with your brain and 20-26.2 is definitely with your heart, because your brain tells you to stop!

I think this is how the conversation:                                                                  Brain: Seriously, stop running – you’re tired, your feet hurt and you want to sit down  Heart: Don’t stop – You trained for this, you’re so close to finishing, you got this.  You are strong.  You got this!                                                                                         Brain:  Just sit down.  Just sit in the middle of the course.  You know you want to…    Heart:  NO!  You’re going.  Listen to the crowd cheer for you!  You’re almost done!

This is what went on in my brain for the last few miles.  I can assure you, I thought about sitting down MANY times, but I didn’t and that was, at times, surprising to me.  LOL

I want anyone reading this, thinking about doing a 5k, 10k, Half or full, or even just thinking about starting to run at all, you can do it.  Anyone can do it!  You just need to let your heart do the talking over your brain and you’ll be fine.

I think I may try another marathon in the future, but for now, I’m gearing up for the Kaiser Permanente Half Marathon next weekend!  Yay 🙂

IMG_4540

